Holland Michigan is home to four Congressional Medal of Honor Recipients

The Congressional Medal of Honor is the most prestigious military decoration that can be awarded to the U.S. military personnel who have distinguished themselves by acts of valor. Generally, the Medal of Honor is presented by the President of the United States, on behalf of Congress.

The Medal of Honor began in the U.S. Navy in 1861, originally named as Medal of Valor. In 1862, the Army established the Medal of Honor, and the Air Force in 1965–18 years after it was established as a separate military branch from the Army.

Holland, Michigan has been home to four Medal of Honor recipients; one of two cities in the country in which this is the case. Visit us over Memorial Day weekend to learn more about Holland’s Medal of Honor recipients. We are open Wednesday to Saturday 11:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Sunday 12:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. We are closed Monday, May 28 in observance of Memorial Day.

Read the National Endowment for the Arts article, “Free Admission to the Museums Nationwide for Military This Summer”